Board of Directors

AWWMA Depends Upon Volunteer Support

 Serving as the Alaska Section AWWA Director has been a wonderful experience. I have met meet many people in the water industry that have become lifelong friends. The role of the AWWA Board of Directors is primarily strategic; provide long-term direction to the staff at AWWA. One of the most important duties of the Board is to elect the officers of the Association during the Winter Board Meeting. As the Section Director, you’re required to attend both the Winter Board Meeting and ACE, where the Summer Board Meeting takes place. Also at ACE, Board Members conduct surveys of the vendors in the Exhibition Hall. This provides valuable feedback to the Association staff and allows Board Members to interact with vendors to get a “pulse” on the Exhibition from the vendor’s standpoint. It has been a great experience to grow personally and professionally while making a difference in the Water Industry.”

 - David Persinger, PE
Past AWWA Director

“The AWWMA Board of Directors shall be responsible for policy and overall leadership of the Association through establishing mission, vision, and values of the organization. It shall have full power to establish and change the policies for the conduct, management, and direction of the business and affairs of the Association.”

Volunteers do outreach, raise funds, provide training and technical assistance for our industry in Alaska. As a volunteer, you’ll have opportunities to learn more about water and wastewater. And, we are always looking for new volunteers to help us advance our mission.

AWWMA is seeking enthusiastic water industry professionals with a talent for management and oversight. Board vacancies are identified below, if you would like more information on the roles and responsibilities please use the contact link at the bottom of this page – we look forward to working with you!

Our 2020-2021 Executive Board

  • AWWA Section Chair/WEF MA President
    Rebecca Venot, PE (Anchorage)
  • AWWA Section Chair-elect/WEF MA President-elect
    David Kranich (Anchorage)
  • AWWA Section Past Chair/WEF MA Past President
    David Persinger (Anchorage)
  • Secretary/Treasurer
    Brendan Smyth (Fairbanks)

The terms of Office for the incoming, current and past chair/president are one year for each, 3 years total as the volunteer moves from incoming to outgoing (limited to one term in each position). The term of office for the Secretary/Treasurer is 3 years and is not limited to one term.

Trustee’s (3 year term)

  • Northern Region
    Leslie Petre (Fairbanks) 2019-2022
  • Southcentral Region
    Ryan Moyers, PE (Anchorage)2020-2023
  • Southeast Region
    Joe Swain (Sitka)2018-2021
  • Membership
    Barbara Johnson (Anchorage) 2019-2022
  • AWWA Director/WEF Trustee
    Shilo Williams (Sitka) 2020-2023
  • WEF Delegate/AWWA Trustee - elect
    Clifford Fletcher (Anchorage) 2020-2023

AWWMA Office
Angie Monteleone, Executive Director


  • AWWA
  • WEF


    Click here to contact an AWWMA Board Member
Contact Us

PO Box 244141
Anchorage AK 99524

Phone:  907. 561. 9777

Connect with Us
Join Newsletter